Fri, 09/21/2018 - 10:05am

If you have ever run out of saline for your central lines, this simple trick will help you out.

Read more
Thu, 09/20/2018 - 9:30am

Dr. Pelletier-Bui discusses some important red eye pearls. 

Read more
Wed, 09/19/2018 - 9:58am

A 93 yo female on rivaroxaban presents unresponsive.

Read more
Tue, 09/18/2018 - 7:55pm

Oral steroids are a mainstay of treatment for severe posion ivy induced contact dermatitis. The doses, duration of therapy, and taper/nontaper debate has raged for decades: read on a for quick summary of a paper comparing a short steroid burst to a 15 day taper!

Read more
Mon, 09/17/2018 - 10:21pm

Here's your roadmap for working through the differential diagnosis of a red eye.

Read more
Sat, 09/15/2018 - 4:00am

A 50 year old male with history of atrial fibrillation and a seafood allergy presents after eating seafood. He is on a beta-blocker for rate control. He has facial swelling, hives, trouble breathing and nausea. You give epinephrine x 2 intramuscularly but the patient is not improving.

Read more
Fri, 09/14/2018 - 12:40pm

Placing a central-line isn't just one procedure...it's a collection of several smaller ones (e.g., getting needle into vessel, dilating the vein, etc.). Here's one tip that can make your job a little bit easier. 

Read more
Thu, 09/13/2018 - 3:02pm

Dr. Katie Selman discusses epistaxis. 

Read more
Wed, 09/12/2018 - 7:00am

A 14 yo M presents to the ED complaining of L knee pain.

Read more
Tue, 09/11/2018 - 5:00am

You are caring for a 2 yo with multifocal pneumonia who is hypoxic on standard nasal canula. You decide to institute high flow nasal canula (HFNC) in an effort to stave off orotracheal intubation. Your repspiratory therapist requests parameters including flow rate (typically 0-40 LPM). What is the optimal flow rate to decrease work of breathing in this pediatric patient?

Read more

Pages