Mon, 09/04/2017 - 12:50am

Hyponatremia is defined as Na < 138 mEq/L and occurs in 15-30% of hospitalized patients. Read on for a quick overview of how to approach it and the clinical signs and symptoms to look for!

Read more
Sun, 09/03/2017 - 10:00am

A high yield summary of this week's posts

Read more
Sat, 09/02/2017 - 10:54am

A 20 y/o M arrives to your ED following an assault with a baseball bat...

Read more
Fri, 09/01/2017 - 6:16pm

Remember the mnemonic T.O.L.D. when taking care of critically ill pregnant patients

Read more
Thu, 08/31/2017 - 12:00pm

The Urine Drug Screen (UDS) is a commonly used test in the emergency department, however there are many shortcomings that limit its diagnostic utility. The Urine Drug Screen is exactly that – a SCREENing and not a confirmatory test!  This week Dr. Lauren Murphy educated us on: 1) the potential false positives and negatives of the UDAS and 2) the detection times that drug metabolites are at a concentration in the urine to trigger a positive result (cutoff value).  Read ahead for the reference tables!    

Read more
Wed, 08/30/2017 - 6:43am

A 63 yo male presents with back pain and lower extremity weakness.

Read more
Tue, 08/29/2017 - 12:03am

Your patient just ate fish and seems to be having a weird reaction.  Could this be one of those weird marine poisonings?

Read more
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 12:17am

The differential for pediatric chest pain is very different from that of adults. Read below for a few pearls on Pediatric Chest Pain.

Read more
Sun, 08/27/2017 - 8:00am

A High Yield summary of this week's posts

Read more
Sat, 08/26/2017 - 5:43pm

Local paramedics respond to a call for an unresponsive teenager…

Read more

Pages