Tue, 10/24/2017 - 5:00am

It can be frustratingly difficult to obtain hemostasis in bleeding dialysis fistulas. Here are some pearls to help you next time you see this patient!

Read more
Mon, 10/23/2017 - 5:00am

Zipper injuries are not only seen in There's Something About Mary.  Learn how to approach and treat them.

Read more
Sun, 10/22/2017 - 1:11pm

A high yield summary of this week's posts!

Read more
Sat, 10/21/2017 - 8:06am

A 19 year old female with a history of sickle cell disease presents to the ED with fever, cough and chest pain...

Read more
Fri, 10/20/2017 - 8:01pm

Patient presents with neck and facial swelling and is complaining of shortness of breath, what's the diagnosis?

Read more
Thu, 10/19/2017 - 8:34pm

Dr. Richard Byrne discussed a step-wise approach to treating and potentially discharging the patient in Afib with RVR.  Read ahead to review the approach:  

Read more
Wed, 10/18/2017 - 9:26am

A 22 yo male with abdominal pain and distension.

Read more
Tue, 10/17/2017 - 5:00am

Whereas the dosing of sedative medications is usually unaffected, the chief concern is whether there should be changes for neuromuscular blockade – will your patient with myasthenia gravis require a higher or lower dose of your selected paralytic?

Read more
Mon, 10/16/2017 - 12:19am

“Airway cart to 9A. Intern, this tube is yours. What meds do you want?”

After the initial self-pulse check and change of scrub pants, two words come to mind: SOAP ME. Not in the literal sense, which may or may not be necessary depending on how nervous one is, but in the handy-dandy-easy-to-remember-in-high-pressure-situations-mnemonic sense. The deer-in-headlights (AKA intern-in-headlights look aside), this edition aims to take a look into an expected adverse reaction with a commonly used rapid sequence intubation (RSI) medication: hyperkalemia associated with succinylcholine administration.

Read more
Sun, 10/15/2017 - 1:07pm

A high yield summary of this week's posts!

Read more

Pages