Mon, 09/17/2018 - 10:21pm

Here's your roadmap for working through the differential diagnosis of a red eye.

Read more
Sat, 09/15/2018 - 4:00am

A 50 year old male with history of atrial fibrillation and a seafood allergy presents after eating seafood. He is on a beta-blocker for rate control. He has facial swelling, hives, trouble breathing and nausea. You give epinephrine x 2 intramuscularly but the patient is not improving.

Read more
Fri, 09/14/2018 - 12:40pm

Placing a central-line isn't just one procedure...it's a collection of several smaller ones (e.g., getting needle into vessel, dilating the vein, etc.). Here's one tip that can make your job a little bit easier. 

Read more
Thu, 09/13/2018 - 3:02pm

Dr. Katie Selman discusses epistaxis. 

Read more
Wed, 09/12/2018 - 7:00am

A 14 yo M presents to the ED complaining of L knee pain.

Read more
Tue, 09/11/2018 - 5:00am

You are caring for a 2 yo with multifocal pneumonia who is hypoxic on standard nasal canula. You decide to institute high flow nasal canula (HFNC) in an effort to stave off orotracheal intubation. Your repspiratory therapist requests parameters including flow rate (typically 0-40 LPM). What is the optimal flow rate to decrease work of breathing in this pediatric patient?

Read more
Mon, 09/10/2018 - 5:00am

Here is your quick guide to rate and rhythm control of atrial fibrillation with rapid ventricular response.

Read more
Sat, 09/08/2018 - 9:06am

A 25 year old female presents with plaquenil overdose. She is hypotensive with a systolic blood pressure of 70. She complains of dizziness. EKG shows QRS widening. You initiate 2L of normal saline but her systolic blood pressure persists in the 70s. What is your vasopressor of choice? 

Read more
Thu, 09/06/2018 - 4:00am

Chest pain is the most common litigated chief complaint in Emergency Medicine. 

Read more
Wed, 09/05/2018 - 9:16am

A 25 y.o. female presents with wrist pain after MVC

 

 

 

Read more

Pages