Fri, 10/23/2020 - 11:50am

As the COVID epidemic continues with cases rising, managing patients with hypoxemia will continue to be challenging. This video with Dr. Matt Siuba and myself will discuss a few strategies to manage the patient with refractory hypoxemia. 

Read more
Thu, 10/22/2020 - 7:48am

Does surgical repair with internal fixation, as compared to nonoperative management with splinting/bracing, improve functional outcomes in patients with isolated closed humeral shaft fractures?

Read more
Wed, 10/21/2020 - 8:29am

 

 

A 55 yo male presents with left knee pain

Read more
Tue, 10/20/2020 - 7:26am

A young female presents complaining of severe abdominal spasms intermittently over days. She has a known neurologic condition which you have never heard of before. Read on to learn the basics of this rare disorder and how to deal with acute exacerbations in the ED!

Read more
Mon, 10/19/2020 - 5:00am

LVADs (Left Ventricular Assist Device) are

Read more
Fri, 10/16/2020 - 6:58am

Dr. Sikina discusses an interesting foreign body case. 

Read more
Thu, 10/15/2020 - 3:30am

Dr. Sewatsky discusses the DEXA-ARDS study. 

Read more
Wed, 10/14/2020 - 7:00am

A 79 yo M w/ past medical history of HTN and DM presents with a 3 day history of lower back pain.

Read more
Tue, 10/13/2020 - 2:56am

Pericardiocentesis is a rarely performed, but potentially life-saving procedure. Commerical models are prohibitively expensive, but students and residents (and critical care fellows) still need to learn the mechanics, ideally with an ultrasound compatibile model. This week's post gives a step by step guide towards making a cheap, easy to fabricate phantom based on this fantastic paper published in the Journal of Emergency Medicne 2012: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21925818

Read more
Mon, 10/12/2020 - 5:00am

How do you detect a jaw dislocation? How do you fix it?

Read more

Pages