Thu, 03/03/2022 - 5:00am

Dr. Courtney Martin, D.O, discusses blunt and penetrating neck trauma. 

Read more
Tue, 03/01/2022 - 5:00pm

A 55 yo female presents with complaints of atraumatic pain to the right foot for 2 days. "Great!" you think to yourself. "An easy one to break up this grueling shift!" Little do you know that this patient harbors a condition that has a short term mortality of 25%.....

Read more
Mon, 02/28/2022 - 5:00am
Fri, 02/25/2022 - 11:30pm
Thu, 02/24/2022 - 5:00am

Dr. Rahul Gupta, M.D., explores if a 5 day course of high-dose Amoxicillin is adequate for treatment of pediatric CAP compared to a 10 day course

Read more
Tue, 02/22/2022 - 9:32am

A 45 year old IDDM presents with abdominal pain, nausea, and dyspnea. He appears markedly tachypneic from the door. "Easy!" you think. "This is a SLAM DUNK case of DKA!" Your nurse then informs you that the patient's point of care glucose is 182...

Read more
Mon, 02/21/2022 - 5:00am

We've covered four of the most prominent pressors over the last few weeks. In this final post about pressors, Dr. Di Taranti shares some pearls about peripheral administration of pressors.

Read more
Thu, 02/17/2022 - 5:00am

Dr. Guo, M.D., discusses the literature for ultrasound-guided nerve block vs. procedural sedation in shoulder reduction. 

Read more
Wed, 02/16/2022 - 1:49pm

A 2 year old F presents to the ED with her parents with concern that she may have ingested a coin.

Read more
Tue, 02/15/2022 - 10:09am

A 48 year old male presents with complaints of blurry vision. His triage blood pressure catches your eye: 290/120. "Pretty high," you mutter to yourself "but am I supposed to treat it? If so, with what? How fast should that pressure come down?" Time for a crash review of hypertensive emergency....

Read more

Pages