Wed, 10/14/2020 - 7:00am

A 79 yo M w/ past medical history of HTN and DM presents with a 3 day history of lower back pain.

Read more
Tue, 10/13/2020 - 2:56am

Pericardiocentesis is a rarely performed, but potentially life-saving procedure. Commerical models are prohibitively expensive, but students and residents (and critical care fellows) still need to learn the mechanics, ideally with an ultrasound compatibile model. This week's post gives a step by step guide towards making a cheap, easy to fabricate phantom based on this fantastic paper published in the Journal of Emergency Medicne 2012: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21925818

Read more
Mon, 10/12/2020 - 5:00am

How do you detect a jaw dislocation? How do you fix it?

Read more
Sat, 10/10/2020 - 5:00am

 

Read more
Fri, 10/09/2020 - 3:00am

A patient is brought to the ED following a cardiac arrest.  ROSC is achieved 1 minute after arrival to the ED.  What treatments should the ED physician provide to allow the best outcomes?

Read more
Thu, 10/08/2020 - 6:00am
Wed, 10/07/2020 - 6:00am

 

 

A 70 male presents after MVC

 

 

 

Read more
Tue, 10/06/2020 - 2:21am

EM physicians see patients with headaches every day in the ED. The vast majority have a simple primary headache, but a tiny fraction of patients will have a much more serious etiology that might result in death, blindeness, or crippling neurologic complications if not promptly diagnosed. The trick, of course, is picking up on the serious causes of headaches...

Read more
Mon, 10/05/2020 - 5:00am

Admittedly not so much a “basic” concept, but this does bring me back to textbooks and medical school. Having seen this recently in a real patient, thought it was useful to review.  Highlights the importance of a good medication reconciliation!

 

MAOI + tyramine  tyramine reaction  hypertensive urgency/emergency

Read more
Sat, 10/03/2020 - 5:00am

 

Read more

Pages