Thu, 12/21/2017 - 12:12pm

It is starting to get cold in the Northeast!  Dr Lou Argentine educated us on the basics of frostbite and keys to proper management.  Read ahead for the details. 

Read more
Wed, 12/20/2017 - 7:00am

A 68 yo M with a past medical history of HTN, CKD, CAD and Afib presents to the ED with diffuse abdominal pain x 8 hours.

Read more
Tue, 12/19/2017 - 5:00am

A 32 year old man presents with a swollen painful digit.  Here are some pearls on flexor tenosynovitis!

Read more
Mon, 12/18/2017 - 5:00am

Trench foot

· Temperatures above freezing + wet conditions = immersion injury

· Commonly from continuously wearing wet socks and shoes

History

Read more
Sun, 12/17/2017 - 5:16pm

A high yield summary of this week's posts

Read more
Sat, 12/16/2017 - 6:55am

 

 

Read more
Fri, 12/15/2017 - 3:54pm

The EMDaily Podcast is back with Dr. Kara Huston. Check out show #2 here

Show notes are coming soon!

Read more
Thu, 12/14/2017 - 6:32am

Try and reorganize your DDx for syncope into a systems based approach.  This week Dr. Lou Argentine spoke on the importance of maintaining a broad differential for all syncope patients to ensure you don’t miss a life threatening illness.

 

Use an organized/system based approach

 

Read more
Wed, 12/13/2017 - 7:00am

A 26 yo M presents to the ED with a chief complaint of R foot pain for 1 month.

Read more
Tue, 12/12/2017 - 5:15am

As ER physicians, we are greatly limited in what we can do for patients with submassive to massive hemoptysis.
- Our job is to manage the airway (prevent asphyxiation), reverse coagulopathies and provide supportive care
- The definitive therapy is an urgent bronchoscopy with ENT or pulmonology
But what if there was more we could do during the bridging period waiting the specialist on call? Enter tranexamic acid!

Read more

Pages