Mon, 03/06/2017 - 12:03am
Sat, 03/04/2017 - 7:16am

A 5 year old male without medical history presents to the Emergency Department with his concerned mother with chief complaint of rash for 2 days. The patient has a palpable purpuric rash localized to the buttocks, legs, and arms (see below).

Read more
Fri, 03/03/2017 - 5:24pm

When patients present to the Emergency Department with acute upper GI bleeding, the natural inclination is to quickly pull the transfusion trigger. However, a 2013 study gives us pause...

Read more
Thu, 03/02/2017 - 6:26am

Have you cared for a paient dying from traumatic hemorrhagic shock despite maximum resucitation efforts?  Dr. Zaffer Qasim from Christiana Care  and @emmeddoc joined us for an outstanding talk on the use of REBOA in this patient population.  

Read more
Wed, 03/01/2017 - 12:18pm

24 year old male presents with left knee pain after he reports playing basketball just prior to arrival. He states he landed on his left knee and "jammed it." He has decreased range of motion of the left knee and there swelling and tenderness-to-palpation of lateral joint line. What's the diagnosis?

Read more
Tue, 02/28/2017 - 5:00am

A 45 year old man with PMHx of HTN presents with chief complaint of chest pain for 15 minutes after shoveling snow. His vital signs and physical exam are unremarkable. A 12 lead ECG is obtained...

Read more
Mon, 02/27/2017 - 5:00am

Using basic terminology, you should be able to describe any fracture to your consults without embarrassing yourself.  Here is your 3 minute review.

Read more
Sun, 02/26/2017 - 8:00am

A high-yield review of the past week on EMDaily.

Read more
Sat, 02/25/2017 - 1:19pm

This patient's rash is likely attributable to what type of pathology?

Read more
Fri, 02/24/2017 - 8:51am

Intra-abdominal hypertension (IAH) and abdominal compartment syndrome (ACS) are rare but significant causes of morbidity and mortality in both traumatic and medical ICU patients.

Read more

Pages