Fri, 03/15/2019 - 4:42pm

A 26 year old female at 40 weeks gestation presents to your emergency department in labor.  During the delivery you notice retraction of the fetal head against the maternal perineum and are unable to deliver either shoulder.  Which of the following steps below should be performed first?

  1. Suprapubic pressure with flexion of hips 
  2. Episiotomy 
  3. Rotate mother to prone position 
  4. Cephalic replacement 
  5. Intentional clavicle fracture 
Read more
Thu, 03/14/2019 - 7:00am
Wed, 03/13/2019 - 1:00pm

A 19 yo M presents to the ED complaining of elbow pain after running into a wall with an outstretched arm.

Read more
Sat, 03/09/2019 - 4:49am

Which of the following is the leading cause of postpartum hemorrhage?

A) Uterine atony

B) Retained placental fragments

C) Lower genital tract laceration 

D) Underlying coagulopathy 

 

Read more
Thu, 03/07/2019 - 7:00am

Discharge:

  • Healthy + young females + tolerating PO + well appearing
  • Admit anyone else
  • Pregnancy gets admitted for increased risk for preterm labor. 

Should you send blood culture if admit?

Read more
Wed, 03/06/2019 - 2:29pm

A 45 yo male presents with pain and swelling of his left hand

Read more
Mon, 03/04/2019 - 12:27am
Fri, 03/01/2019 - 11:55pm

Can you identify what type of Salter Harris fracture this patient has?

Read more
Thu, 02/28/2019 - 7:10am

Dr. Schramm discusses some pearls for management of renal colic. 

Read more
Wed, 02/27/2019 - 7:00am

A 35 yo M presents to the ED complaining of R hand pain after punching a wall in an upward motion. He denies any numbness or paresthesias. On exam, he has an obvious deformity of the dorsum of the R hand, but is neurovascularly intact.

Read more

Pages