Mon, 03/23/2020 - 5:00am

Today's quick review of Toxic Shock Syndrome is brought to you by Dr. Lynn Manganiello.

Read more
Sat, 03/21/2020 - 11:00pm

 

Read more
Fri, 03/20/2020 - 3:00am

During the current pandemic, physicians are findings themselves interfacing with the public and talking about topics they never thought they would have to consider.  One way to prepare for this is to develop a library of phrases ahead of time which can be used in the appropriate context. It can also be helpful to generate analogies to common objects/systems to assist the general public in understanding critical care concepts.

Read more
Thu, 03/19/2020 - 5:00am

 

Does providing an ondansetron prescription to pediatric patients discharged from the emergency department with presumed diagnosis of acute gastroenteritis decrease rate of repeat ED visit?

 

Read more
Wed, 03/18/2020 - 12:10am

A 35 yo male presents wiht right shoulder pain

Read more
Tue, 03/17/2020 - 5:00am

45 y/o F, no PMHx, sent in from UC for R sided pleural effusion

Read more
Mon, 03/16/2020 - 5:00am

 

Pseudogout

· Aka Calcium Pyrophosphate Deposition Disease (CPPD)

· Findings:

Read more
Sat, 03/14/2020 - 10:00pm

 

Read more
Fri, 03/13/2020 - 9:23am

 

Like all medical therapies, we have learned that treatment with oxygen comes at a cost. The medical literature is replete with the detriments of hyperoxia in the management of myocardial infarction, acute stroke, cardiac arrest and septic shock. What is the optimal oxygenation target for critically ill patients requiring mechanical ventilation? Three landmark trials can guide us: Oxygen-ICU, ICU-ROX and LOCO2. The end to the oxygenation fairytale remains to be told, but perhaps Goldilocks is “just right.”  

Read more
Thu, 03/12/2020 - 11:13am

Reviewing the basics of RBBB

Read more

Pages