Thu, 09/03/2020 - 7:00am

Dr. Volino discusses Serotonin Syndrome

Read more
Wed, 09/02/2020 - 3:00pm

A 44 yo M presents to the ED w/ L foot and ankle pain. He was running and stepped into a hole, stating he heard a "crack". He has been unable to bear weight since the injury. On exam, he has swelling and marked bony tenderness of both the lateral and medial malleoli and heel.

Read more
Tue, 09/01/2020 - 5:11am

You are called to the trauma bay to evaluate an 18 yo male involved in an MVC. Your nurse tells you that he seems ok but keeps repeating himself. You wonder what injuries you should be concerned for and what your diagnostic approach should be as you enter the patient's room.....

Read more
Mon, 08/31/2020 - 5:00am

A few quick basics and pearls about ectopic pregnancy in the ED

Read more
Sat, 08/29/2020 - 9:15pm

 

Read more
Fri, 08/28/2020 - 3:00am

A 60-year-old man presents to the ED after an episode of syncope. He is initially hemodynamically stable and undergoes CT demonstrating saddle pulmonary embolism. He returns from radiology with tachycardia and hypotension refractory to fluids and requiring vasopressor support. Bedside echo reveals RV dilation and severely reduced RV systolic dysfunction with septal flattening consistent with RV pressure overload. As you start systemic anticoagulation with heparin, you consider the indications for thrombolysis, surgical embolectomy and VA-ECMO.   

Read more
Thu, 08/27/2020 - 6:00am

Do you know which substances in YOUR house are capable of causing debilitating tissue injury if ingested?

Read more
Wed, 08/26/2020 - 12:10am

 

 

A 40 yo female presents with knee pain

 

 

Read more
Button batteries
Tue, 08/25/2020 - 3:40pm
Mon, 08/24/2020 - 5:00am

What exactly is drowning? What do we need to worry about in drowning injuries? How do we manage them in the ED? 

Read more

Pages