Mon, 04/20/2020 - 2:01am

My usual response to skin tears? These are as basic as you can get. But - when large, under tension, or with a poorly viable skin flap, they can be quite problematic. So let's go back to the basics of skin tears and discuss their management.

Read more
Sat, 04/18/2020 - 5:00am
Fri, 04/17/2020 - 3:00am

You sign out to the overnight team at midnight and stay an hour or so completing a laceration repair and finishing your charts.  It's been a chaotic afternoon and evening and the patina of COVID-19 didn’t make things any better. After your shift (and appropriate decontamination) you pass your hospital’s new resiliency resource room.  You wonder, “What would be more relaxing right now? Doing some deliberative coloring, petting a dog, or just heading home?”

Read more
Thu, 04/16/2020 - 5:25am

Cooper EM team discussesd “Hydroxychloroquine and azithromycin as a treatment of COVID-19: results of an open-label non-randomized clinical trial” by Gautret P, Lagier JC, Parola P, et al. 

Dr. Brittany Cesar and Dr. Angela Ugorets summarize the article ...

 

Read more ,
Wed, 04/15/2020 - 8:00am

A 45 yo female presents with shortness of breath

Read more
Mon, 04/13/2020 - 5:00am

Cellulitis vs erisypelas vs folliculitis vs... 

Read more
Sun, 04/12/2020 - 12:15pm

 

Read more
Fri, 04/10/2020 - 7:25am

Prone positioning was discovered by a woman. 

 

She was a nurse. 

 

This should surprise no one. 

 

Read more
Thu, 04/09/2020 - 5:00am

 

Question: Are anesthetic eye drops (proparacaine, tetracaine, etc.) for corneal abrasions effective for pain control AND safe to prescribe after discharge from the emergency department?

 

Read more
Wed, 04/08/2020 - 7:00am

40 yo F presents to the ED w/ 12 hours of GI symptoms.

Read more

Pages