Mon, 12/02/2019 - 5:00am

You've diagnosed your patient with a PE! Now what?

Blood thinners? tPA? Other options?

Let's review some of the basics of PE management in the ED.

Read more
Sat, 11/30/2019 - 5:00am

 

Read more
Fri, 11/29/2019 - 6:00am

EMS brings in a 67 year old male in a PEA arrest. ROSC is obtained after twenty minutes of downtime. He was intubated by EMS during transport. A colleague talks to the family and she lets you know that he was complaining of shortness of breath and chest pain for an hour before he had a witnessed cardiac arrest and that his PMH includes HLD and HTN. The respiratory therapist is asking for the ventilator settings.

 

Read more
Thu, 11/28/2019 - 5:00am

Coronary Angiography after Cardiac Arrest without ST-Segment Elevation

Read more
Wed, 11/27/2019 - 9:00am

A 60 yo F presents to the ED after a fall from height with pain in her L upper extremity.

Read more
Tue, 11/26/2019 - 9:53am

41 yo female presents for wake-up right sided weakness ...

Read more
Mon, 11/25/2019 - 5:00am

Quick and easy visual guide to anterior cord syndrome, central cord syndrome and Brown Sequard.

Read more
Sun, 11/24/2019 - 5:00am

40yo post-partum female presents to the ED c/o SOB ...

Read more
Sat, 11/23/2019 - 5:00am

 

Read more
Fri, 11/22/2019 - 1:00am

An 82-year-old woman is mechanically ventilated for acute respiratory failure following acute intracerebral hemorrhage. Her FiO2 has been 30% with an arterial blood gas showing adequate ventilation and oxygenation for the last 24 hours (7.43/37/89/25). Suddenly, the ventilator alarms for low exhaled tidal volume. On bedside evaluation, her SpO2 is 84%, respiratory rate 20 breaths per minute, HR 124 beats per minute and blood pressure 105/65 mm Hg. Her ventilator graphics before and after the alarm are depicted below. What mode of mechanical ventilation is she receiving and what triggered the alarm? 

 

Read more

Pages