Thu, 09/24/2020 - 6:00am

Dr. Murphy discusses Methemoglobinemia. 

Read more
Wed, 09/23/2020 - 7:36am

A 53 yo male presents with right hand pain

 

 

 

 

Read more
Tue, 09/22/2020 - 6:42pm
Mon, 09/21/2020 - 5:24am

With several anticoagulants now on the market, one needs to be well versed in the various reversal options in the setting of lifethreatening bleed (or if supratherapeutic on coumadin).  Here's your quick review.

Read more
Fri, 09/18/2020 - 3:00am

It’s a familiar call ahead to the ED - an adult patient who is febrile, hypotensive, with suspicion towards infection.  While setting up the room, the patient’s bedside nursing team asks if you’d like them to get saline or lactated Ringer’s (LR) ready for resuscitation.  You wonder if there’s any new evidence examining the use of saline versus balanced crystalloids in the emergency department.

Read more
Thu, 09/17/2020 - 6:00am

Dr. Murphy discussed cyanide toxicity 

Read more
Wed, 09/16/2020 - 11:00am

A 17 yo F with no PMHx presents to Urgent Care w/ L sided chest pain. Pain sharp, radiates to L upper back, has been intermittent x 1 month, worse x last 2-3 days. No exacerbating or relieving factors. She denies fever/chills, cough/URI sx, LE pain/edema. No prior hx of DVT, no OCPs.

Read more
Tue, 09/15/2020 - 5:11am

An 87 yo male is brought in by EMS after a syncopal event while on the toilet, resulting in a fall and head injury. EMS reports a heart rate in the 30s en route. As your approach the resuscitation bay you begin to think about the causes of bradycardia and what your approach will be to stabilize this potentially very sick patient....

Read more
Mon, 09/14/2020 - 5:15am

Hypoglycemia can be a lifethreatening emergency - here's your quick review of s/sx, causes and management.

Read more
Sat, 09/12/2020 - 5:00am

30 year old male

Read more

Pages