Tue, 01/28/2020 - 5:00am

11-year-old boy previously health who presents with testicular pain. He had sudden onset of pain that started 6 hours ago. He rates it 8/10, states it has been constant since then and is non-radiating. He denies dysuria and similar pain in the past. He further denies testicular trauma and recent fevers. He had one episode of emesis while in the waiting room.

Read more
Mon, 01/27/2020 - 5:00am

It's pretty easy to remember what to do with unstable polymorphic VT/Torsades de Pointes (shock 'em!), but what are your options with recurrent stable episodes?  

Read more
Sat, 01/25/2020 - 5:00am

 

Read more
Fri, 01/24/2020 - 3:00am

You are assessing a 68 year old male who fell down three steps and struck his head on the ground.  His history is significant for a drug eluting stent placed after a cardiac catheterization two months ago.  As a result he is on dual antiplatelet therapy. You wonder what the impact of aspirin and clopidogrel is on the risk of intracranial hemorrhage (ICH).

Read more
Thu, 01/23/2020 - 5:00am

Accidental or Intentional overdoses with insulin or sulfonylureas causes hypoglycemia 

Read more
Wed, 01/22/2020 - 5:49am

 

50 yo female presents after a fall on an outstretched hand

 

 

 

Read more
Tue, 01/21/2020 - 10:51am

A 64 y.o male presents with complaint of ear pain and swelling. Click to learn more about causes of ear pain other than OM and OE!

Read more
Mon, 01/20/2020 - 5:00am

A few minute review of inflammation of the ole bile bag (aka cholecystitis).

Read more
Sat, 01/18/2020 - 5:00am

 

Read more
Fri, 01/17/2020 - 4:00am

Lung-protective mechanical ventilation with low tidal volume and restricted plateau pressure improves survival in ARDS. However, the optimal approach to PEEP titration to minimize VILI is still debated. Should oxygenation, lung compliance, driving pressure or transpulmonary pressure guide adjustment of PEEP in ARDS?

Read more

Pages