Wed, 08/23/2017 - 12:46am

23 yo male presents with hand pain.  He reluctantly admits to punching a wall during a fight with his girlfriend.  Exam reveals focal swelling and tenderness of right hand.  What's the diagnosis?  (scroll down for answer)

 

Read more
Tue, 08/22/2017 - 3:00am

What are the types of priapism? How do you determine which type your patient may have? How do you treat it?? Here are some pearls...

Read more
Mon, 08/21/2017 - 12:57am

Interesting case of a cyanotic patient lately? Looking for good questions to pimp medical students or residents with (had an attending in residency who always loved to ask about way he only recommended pyridium for use for a couple of days for UTI symptoms)? Studying for boards? Below are some teaching points on methemoglobinemia.

Read more
Sun, 08/20/2017 - 8:00am

A high yield summary of this week's posts

Read more
Sat, 08/19/2017 - 3:29pm

You are working a shift in the Emergency Department when the local EMS brings you a patient with shortness of breath that was rescued from a house fire.

Read more
Thu, 08/17/2017 - 10:00pm

Today, EM Daily with Cooper Medical School hosted a number of local residency programs for the first RESUS/EM conference. These fantastic lectures will be available on EM Daily in a couple weeks, but to hold you over, here are some pearls from the day!

Read more ,
Wed, 08/16/2017 - 7:34am

A 14 week old male presents to the ED with lethargy and fever.  He appears ill and has a full fontanelle.  A CT is obtained.  What's the diagnosis?

 

Read more
Tue, 08/15/2017 - 2:56pm

Have you ever been concerned about a severe finger laceration where the distal portion appears dusky and cool?  Wondered if it could benefit from replantation?  Here is a quick tip to help!

Read more
Mon, 08/14/2017 - 5:00am

Subarachnoid Hemorrhage Management Pearls

1.  SAH requiring intubation:

Read more
Sun, 08/13/2017 - 2:22pm

A high yield review of this week's posts

Read more

Pages