Sat, 05/26/2018 - 12:07am

A 40 year old male with history of Marfan's Syndrome comes in with sudden onset shortness of breath. He is tachycardic to 120, blood pressure is 80/40, patient is tachypneic with increased work of breathing.

Read more
Fri, 05/25/2018 - 12:06am

Find out why the RV needs more love in this video by John Greenwood. 

Read more
Thu, 05/24/2018 - 6:00am
Wed, 05/23/2018 - 7:00am

A 13 yo F presents to the ED with R elbow pain after falling off the top of a cheerleading pyramid. 

Read more
Tue, 05/22/2018 - 1:19pm

This week's post comes courtesy of our ED pharmacist Rachel Rafeq. Surprise! Metronidazole is no longer first line therapy for c-diff infections! Check out this handy table for the updated guidelines from the Infectious Disease Society of America for the latest treatment regimens

Read more
Mon, 05/21/2018 - 12:29am

While we aren't dentists, it's very common to encouter ED patients with dental complaints. Dental blocks are a very useful tool in the care of patients with not only dental pain, but can also be used to anesthesize certain areas of the face for laceration repairs. Read on below for a guide on the different types of blocks.

Read more
Sat, 05/19/2018 - 8:25am

Read more
Fri, 05/18/2018 - 12:53pm

Should we be treating fevers in sepsis? ...and don't forget to Save the Date for 8/1/18....ResusEM2 is coming!

Read more
Thu, 05/17/2018 - 8:00am

Dr. Christopher Smith takes a deep dive into the literature to find out if lactic acid in septic shock can be used the same in pregnant women as non-pregnant women. 

Read more
Wed, 05/16/2018 - 12:55am

A 3 month old male presents with abdominal distention and vomiting.

Read more

Pages